Climate Change Authority and Low Carbon Australia appointments

Incoming Low Carbon Australia Chair Mike Rann.

Incoming Low Carbon Australia Chair Mike Rann.

The Federal Government has appointed former South Australian Premier Mike Rann to the board of Low Carbon Australia, and Anthea Harris as Chief Executive of the new Climate Change Authority.

Mr Rann is expected to be formally elected as Chair of Low Carbon Australia at its June 2012 board meeting.

He is a member of the International Leadership Council, The Climate Group in the United Kingdom and the International Advisory Board of the Ecological Sequestration Trust in the United Kingdom.

Low Carbon Australia was established to assist businesses, public sector organisations and consumers improve energy efficiency, reduce emissions, and identify carbon-neutral goods and services.

In addition, the Government has said that Anthea Harris, current Chief Advisor for the Federal Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, will bring a wealth of knowledge on the economics of climate change from both the private and public sector perspectives to its Climate Change Authority.

The Authority will be an independent statutory authority based in Melbourne with Bernie Fraser as Chair.

Enter your details here to subscribe to the free EcoGeneration Online Update.

Thank you for signing up for the EcoGeneration Online Update.